Gary Miller's Blog
 
Many people have asked me how I ever chose the professional of photography. My answer is that it chose me. From the earliest age , I could not read well nor  write well. I was terrible at sports , which made me the last person picked at gym class. This did 't do much for giving me the idea that I was going to be a great success. Self esteem was not something I had much of ... there were many days & nights full of tears. At the age of 12 years old I was sitting in my homeroom class when a counselor from the high school came to help us plot our future. I was informed that I had the freedom of choice to pick an elective and photography seemed to jump off the page. It seemed that photography was something that I could do. While I was barely passing my academic classes ... I was excelling in my photography class. There was freedom of expression in the assignment of photographing a cute girl, who would have never talked to me if there was not  a camera in front of my face. Talk to the young lady, light the young lady,  learn studio lighting, outdoor lighting,pictures in bright light, pictures in shade. I was obsessed to find the special beauty in every person that stepped in front of my lens. The better I made my subjects look , the more people that talked to me. Math, History, English , Science, & gym were disasters.. could I ever get my brain to be normal.
    After 4 years of high school I photographed many sweet 16s, portraits, senior pictures, and many weddings. Being the best was all I could think about. I sought out some of the top legends in the photographic industry. I went to their studios and they shared it all with me. Funny, I found out that the bigger the persons reputation the more he would share with me.
    Now it's time to enter college and pick a real career . I thought if I teach elementary school, I should be smarter than most 4th & 5th graders. I love animals so I'll teach elementary science. I filled my room with snakes, lizards, guinea pigs, hamsters, frogs,toads , land turtles, water turtles, . The photographs of the kids and the animals they related to filled the room. Now the students self esteem was raised seeing how brave they were holding a 5 foot boa constrictor. Communication , friendship, and rapport broke down many barriers. This tool of photography was opening many closed doors. 
    Most of the people I grew up with were on track to be doctors, lawyers, accountants, judges... could I survive as a low life photographer? What would my parents say? what would my friends say? Would any decent woman marry a poor photographer? How could I survive? How would I face the world? How do you get to Carnegie Hall asked the student ... practice, practice, practice.




Leave a Reply.

    About Gary

    Gary R. Miller Photography... the Loving Touch, is a warm and friendly photographic studio which specializes in helping people look their best. Perfect smiles, perfect bodies, perfect skin, and a perfect message. Gary personally, starts off by finding out exactly what you want to achieve during your event or portrait session. Our studio theme is Express yourself... Express your beauty, express your attitude, express your personality, express your hobby, express your relationship with loved ones, friends, or pets.

    Archives

    March 2010
    August 2009
    July 2009

    Categories

    All
    Advice
    Hobbies
    Horsess
    Photography
    Tips

    RSS Feed